default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

American Association of University Women awards scholarships for 2013

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, July 10, 2013 3:47 pm

Linda Sattler, scholarship chairwoman, and the American Association of University Women Scholarship Committee, which includes Brenda Kosaka, Marilyn Burns, Christi Reinhold, and Sally Spenker, announced the 2013 scholarships awarded to LUSD Seniors.

This year, we were fortunate in being able to provide a $1,000 scholarship to a student at each of the comprehensive high schools. At Bear Creek, the award went to Isabella Gonzales, who will attend University of California, San Diego and major in engineering.

At Lodi High School, Marissa Ramirez received the scholarship and she will attend California State University, Sacramento and major in kinesiology and Spanish. From McNair, Sophia Dhillon accepted the scholarship and will attend University of California, Los Angeles and major in Chemistry. Tokay High School student, Alexa Abdullah received the award and will attend the University of California, Davis and major in biological sciences.

The Joan Cooper Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,000 is awarded to a Tokay student in memory of Joan Cooper. It is funded by the Cooper family and the selection is made by the AAUW Scholarship Committee. This year, the award goes to Jazmin Garibay, who will attend Delta College and major in early childhood education.

— Source: Suga Moriwaki

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Use your real name. You must register with your full first and last name before you can comment. (And don’t pretend you’re someone else.)
  • 2 Keep it clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually oriented language.
  • 3 Don’t threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
  • 4 Be truthful. Don't lie about anyone or anything. Don't post unsubstantiated allegations, rumors or gossip that could harm the reputation of a person, company or organization.
  • 5 Be nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 6 Stay on topic. Make sure your comments are about the story. Don’t insult each other.
  • 7 Tell us if the discussion is getting out of hand. Use the ‘Report’ link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 8 Share what you know, and ask about what you don't.
  • 9 Don’t be a troll.
  • 10 Don’t reveal personal information about other commenters. You may reveal your own personal information, but we advise you not to do so.
  • 11 We reserve the right, at our discretion, to monitor, delete or choose not to post any comment. This may include removing or monitoring posts that we believe violate the spirit or letter of these rules, or that we otherwise determine at our discretion needs to be monitored, not posted, or deleted.

Welcome to the discussion.

Lodi Flickr Photos

Lodinews.com is not responsible for the content above, which is provided in real-time from Flickr. The photos above are retrieved via Flickr search using the keywords "Lodi, California."



Your News

News for the community, by the community.

Mailing List

Subscribe to a mailing list to have daily news sent directly to your inbox.

  • Breaking News

    Would you like to receive breaking news alerts? Sign up now!

  • News Updates

    Would you like to receive our daily news headlines? Sign up now!

  • Sports Updates

    Would you like to receive our daily sports headlines? Sign up now!

Manage Your Lists