default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

San Joaquin County supervisors seek county representation in Sacramento and Washington, D.C.

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, March 30, 2011 12:00 am | Updated: 8:54 am, Wed Mar 30, 2011.

San Joaquin County supervisors will send a clear message to the citizens' committee that will draw new legislative lines this year — they want a unified county voice in Sacramento and Washington and not to have their representatives' attention diverted by other counties in their districts.

The Board of Supervisors voted 3-0 on Tuesday to ask the California Citizens Redistricting Commission to place San Joaquin County within one congressional, one state senate and one assembly district.

The recommendation goes against projections by Republican consultant and longtime reapportionment expert Tony Quinn, who told the News-Sentinel during a meeting in Stockton two weeks ago that San Joaquin County would likely be carved into two assembly districts.

Supervisor Ken Vogel acknowledged after Tuesday's board meeting that the county would be divided into two assembly districts, but the important thing is to not be carved up into four districts.

"I think the thing we were trying to emphasize is that we want to be as whole as possible," Vogel said.

Since the 2002 elections, San Joaquin County has been divided into four assembly, two state senate and two congressional districts. Quinn said the county population would likely warrant a single senate and congressional district, plus two assembly districts.

The main idea is to separate San Joaquin County from the East Bay and Morgan Hill in Congress, for example. Rep. Jerry McNerney, D-Pleasanton, represents most of San Joaquin County, the San Ramon Valley, parts of the Livermore Valley and the southern Santa Clara County community of Morgan Hill.

And Rep. Dennis Cardoza, D-Atwater, has narrow slivers of Democrat-based central Stockton and a small part of Fresno County, but his base is in Stanislaus and Merced counties.

San Joaquin County shares congressional, state senate and assembly districts with Alameda, Amador, Contra Costa, El Dorado, Fresno, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Sacramento, Solano, Santa Clara, Stanislaus, Tuolumne and Yolo counties.

The redistricting commission is scheduled to complete boundaries for California by Aug. 15. A public hearing will be held after the maps are drawn.

Contact reporter Ross Farrow at rossf@lodinews.com.

More about

More about

More about

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Use your real name. You must register with your full first and last name before you can comment. (And don't pretend you're someone else.)
  • 2 Keep it clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually oriented language.
  • 3 Don't threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
  • 4 Be truthful. Don't lie about anyone or anything. Don't post unsubstantiated allegations, rumors or gossip that could harm the reputation of a person, company or organization.
  • 5 Be nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 6 Stay on topic. Make sure your comments are about the story. Don't insult each other.
  • 7 Tell us if the discussion is getting out of hand. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 8 Share what you know, and ask about what you don't.

Welcome to the discussion.


Popular Stories



Mailing List

Subscribe to a mailing list to have daily news sent directly to your inbox.

  • Breaking News

    Would you like to receive breaking news alerts? Sign up now!

  • News Updates

    Would you like to receive our daily news headlines? Sign up now!

  • Sports Updates

    Would you like to receive our daily sports headlines? Sign up now!

Manage Your Lists