default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Final deadline passes for local boards; several unfilled seats

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, August 16, 2012 5:02 pm | Updated: 6:07 am, Fri Aug 17, 2012.

Several people took advantage of the extended filing deadline this week to run for local school, water and fire district boards. Several of the filings took place on Wednesday, the deadline in districts in where an incumbent decided not to seek re-election.

The deadline to file for local boards and councils expired last Friday unless an incumbent didn’t file for re-election. In that case, the filing deadline was extended until 5 p.m. Wednesday. Incumbents were ineligible to file for another term during the extended filing period.

However, a few districts ended up not having enough candidates to fill the available seats. In those districts, it will be up to the board of that district to appoint someone to fill the vacancy, according to Bassem Nakhla, San Joaquin County’s elections technician supervisor.

Here’s a rundown on who’s running for office locally:

Lodi City Council (two seats): Incumbents JoAnne Mounce and Bob Johnson filed along with challenger Doug Kuehne.

Galt City Council (two seats): Incumbent Barbara Payne and challengers Curt Campion, Kelly Keagy, Mike Hodge and Mike McCune.

Lodi Unified School District: Ralph M. Womack, trustee area 2; Joe Nava, trustee area 7; no one filed in trustee area 6, so Michael Abdallah’s term will end in December.

Galt Joint Union High School District (two seats): Challengers Aaron Stanley, Amy Madison and Terry Parker-Owning filed; incumbents Kathleen Amos and Diann Kitamura are not seeking re-election.

Galt Joint Union Elementary School District (two seats): Incumbent John Gordon and challenger Matthew Giblin are running unopposed. Giblin will replace Sue Richardson, who is not seeking re-election.

New Hope School District (Thornton) (one seat): Incumbent Jose Luis Torres is unopposed.

Oak View Union School District (eastern Acampo) (two seats): Incumbents Stanley Seifert and Greg Rausser are unopposed.

San Joaquin Delta Community College District, Trustee area 5 (Galt, rural areas surrounding Lodi, parts of Solano and Calaveras counties): Incumbent Stephan Castellanos faces challenger David E. Tanner.

Woodbridge Municipal Advisory Council (four seats): Incumbent Doug Field and newcomer Mark Lewis are unopposed. Incumbents Charles Stocker and Mary Avanti filed for re-election, but the San Joaquin County Registrar of Voters told them they couldn’t run for two boards. Stocker and Avanti said they would rather run for the Woodbridge Sanitary District board.

Lockeford Municipal Advisory Council (four seats): Newcomers Jessica Smith and Matthew Lorentzen will be seated in December; two seats remain vacant because Joe Sublett, Lani Eklund, Bob Marty and Jordi Domenech didn’t file for re-election.

Thornton Municipal Advisory Council (three seats): No one filed. The terms of Cindy Chumbley, Kristine Lagoda (Honer) and Mike Stokes will end in December.

Morada Municipal Advisory Council (three seats): Incumbents Kurt Cooper, Danny Nunes and Sharon Stewart are unopposed.

Lockeford Community Services District (water, sewer, parks) (two seats): Newcomers Stephen E. Granlees and Mark True are unopposed. They will replace incumbents Gary Gordon and David Rowe, who didn’t seek re-election.

North San Joaquin Water Conservation District (east Lodi, Lockeford, Clements, Acampo) (two seats): No one filed in Division 5; Joe Petersen’s term will end in December; Division 3 incumbent Joe Valenti is unopposed.

Woodbridge Irrigation District (Woodbridge, rural western Lodi, Terminous, Thornton): Incumbents Avery McQueen in Division 2 and Eddie Lucchesi in Division 5 are unopposed.

Woodbridge Sanitary District (two seats): Incumbents Harold Rohrbach and Willie Nelson will be challenged by Charles Stocker and Mary Avanti.

Clements Rural Fire Protection District (three seats): Incumbents Ron Swearengin, Ray Engel will be unopposed; No one filed for the third seat; incumbent William Earl Henderson didn’t file for re-election.

Liberty Rural County Fire Protection District (eastern Acampo) (two seats): Incumbents William Ward and Robert Erman are unopposed.

Mokelumne Rural County Fire Protection District (Victor, Lockeford) (two seats): Incumbents Bernie Mettler and Mike Young are unopposed.

Waterloo-Morada Rural Fire Protection District (two seats): Incumbents Clayton Titus and William Snyder are unopposed.

Woodbridge Rural County Fire Protection District (Woodbridge, rural western Lodi, Flag City, Terminous) (two seats): Incumbents Michael Manassero and Michael Manna are unopposed.

Contact reporter Ross Farrow at rossf@lodinews.com.

More about

More about

More about

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Use your real name. You must register with your full first and last name before you can comment. (And don't pretend you're someone else.)
  • 2 Keep it clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually oriented language.
  • 3 Don't threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
  • 4 Be truthful. Don't lie about anyone or anything. Don't post unsubstantiated allegations, rumors or gossip that could harm the reputation of a person, company or organization.
  • 5 Be nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 6 Stay on topic. Make sure your comments are about the story. Don't insult each other.
  • 7 Tell us if the discussion is getting out of hand. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 8 Share what you know, and ask about what you don't.

Welcome to the discussion.


Popular Stories


Should graduations return to the Grape Bowl?

Lodi Unified leaders are moving Lodi and Tokay high school graduations from the Grape Bowl to the Spanos Center at UOP in Stockton. They cite limited seating, costs and unpredictable weather at the Grape Bowl. But others say graduations at the Grape Bowl are an important Lodi tradition, and one reason many supported renovating the stadium. What do you think?

Total Votes: 23


Mailing List

Subscribe to a mailing list to have daily news sent directly to your inbox.

  • Breaking News

    Would you like to receive breaking news alerts? Sign up now!

  • News Updates

    Would you like to receive our daily news headlines? Sign up now!

  • Sports Updates

    Would you like to receive our daily sports headlines? Sign up now!

Manage Your Lists