default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Terry Parker-Owning, Amy Madison win seats on Galt high school district board

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Tuesday, November 6, 2012 6:53 pm | Updated: 1:21 pm, Mon Dec 3, 2012.

Local Realtor Terry Parker-Owning and Amy Madison won the two seats available on the Galt Joint Union High School District board of trustees Tuesday.

With all 40 precincts reporting in Sacramento County and five precincts in San Joaquin County, official results show Parker-Owning received 6,281 votes (43.87 percent) and Madison received 4,562 votes (31.86 percent).

The third challenger, Aaron Stanley, had 3,428 votes (23.94 percent).

There were 47 write-in votes.

The results were last updated in Sacramento County at 3:03 p.m. Friday, Nov. 30, 2012, and in San Joaquin County at 7:11 a.m. Monday, Dec. 3, 2012.

Sacramento County results

San Joaquin County results

Incumbents Kathleen Amos and Diann Kitamura did not seek re-election for undisclosed reasons.

Trustees are elected at-large, meaning they represent the entire district, not just one specific area.

Madison, of Acampo, is a fund development director for the state FFA organization, while Stanley is a Galt college student. Neither could be reached for comment late Tuesday.

Parker-Owning, who also lives in Galt, previously served on the school board for four years but chose not to seek re-election in 2010. She said Tuesday that she is once again excited to work for the students for the next four years.

With a new superintendent in place since last time she served, Parker-Owning said she is optimistic.

“We have great schools with great programs. Together as a team we can make it even better,” she said.

At the elementary level, there will be a change on the Galt Joint Union Elementary School District board of trustees, although no election was held.

Only board President John Gordon and candidate Matthew Giblin filed their nomination papers and qualified for the ballot, so they will occupy the two open seats. Incumbent Susan Richardson chose not to seek re-election.

Incumbent Grace Malson was the only candidate to file nomination papers for the short-term seat, and she will continue to serve in that capacity.

In nearby Herald’s Arcohe Union School District, incumbents Scott Smith and Michelle Neider were also unchallenged and will remain seated. There was no election.

Contact reporter Jennifer Bonnett at jenniferb@lodinews.com.

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Use your real name. You must register with your full first and last name before you can comment. (And don't pretend you're someone else.)
  • 2 Keep it clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually oriented language.
  • 3 Don't threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
  • 4 Be truthful. Don't lie about anyone or anything. Don't post unsubstantiated allegations, rumors or gossip that could harm the reputation of a person, company or organization.
  • 5 Be nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 6 Stay on topic. Make sure your comments are about the story. Don't insult each other.
  • 7 Tell us if the discussion is getting out of hand. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 8 Share what you know, and ask about what you don't.

Welcome to the discussion.


Popular Stories



Mailing List

Subscribe to a mailing list to have daily news sent directly to your inbox.

  • Breaking News

    Would you like to receive breaking news alerts? Sign up now!

  • News Updates

    Would you like to receive our daily news headlines? Sign up now!

  • Sports Updates

    Would you like to receive our daily sports headlines? Sign up now!

Manage Your Lists