default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Logout|My Dashboard

Local candidates file for key races

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, August 8, 2008 10:00 pm

Several people will be vying in the November election for spots on the city councils of Lodi and Galt, which will also have school board races.

The following is a list of all candidates in the November election:

Galt City Council: Nine people filed to run for two city council seats. They include incumbents Tim Raboy and Barbara Payne, along with Frederick Goethel, Kelly Keagy, George Romano, Richard Salton, Tom Santillan, Randy Shelton and Rodney Stanhope.

Galt City Clerk Liz Aguire is running unopposed for re-election, as is City Treasurer Shaun Farrell.

Lodi City Council: Five people filed to run for two city council seats. Those include incumbents JoAnne Mounce and Bob Johnson, along with Cliff DeBaugh, Kelly Bates and Roger Khan. Lodi does not have any other elected positions. City clerk and treasurer roles are appointed positions.

The San Joaquin County Registrar of Voters was still determining valid filings on Friday, so information will not be available on final filings until Monday. Information wasn't available late Friday afternoon from Sacramento County as well.

In any board or council where an incumbent is not running for re-election, the filing period will be extended until 5 p.m. Wednesday.

The following are filings as of 5 p.m. Thursday:

Galt Joint Union High School District: Incumbent Norman Pearson and challengers Diann Kitamura and Connie Goethel have filed for one of two available four-year seats. Dennis Richardson filed for a two-year seat. Elected incumbent Sue Roberts and appointed incumbent Robert Prouty Jr., have not filed.

Galt Joint Union Elementary School District: Incumbents Erv Hatzenbuhler and Susan Richardson have filed and are unopposed.

Oak View Union School District: Incumbents Greg Rausser and Stan Seifert have filed and are unopposed.

New Hope School District: No one has filed. Jim Allan and Jose Luis Torres are the incumbents.

Lodi Unified School District: Incumbents Ken Davis, Area Two; Harvey Bills Sr., Area Six; and Peter Johnson, Area Seven, have all filed.

Joe Nava and William Stanley III are the only others who have filed for Area Seven.

Municipal advisory councils

Woodbridge: Incumbent Mary Avanti and challengers Charles Stocker and Karen Soliz have filed. Incumbents Robert Emerson Durham, Ronald Rader and Tad Platt have not filed.

Lockeford: Incumbent Lani Eklund and challengers Joe Sublett and Jordi Domenech have filed. Incumbents Don Litchfield, Robert Marty and Roy Wales have not filed.

Thornton: Incumbents Cindy Chumbley and Kristine Lagoda have filed and are unopposed. Incumbent Bruno Mori has not filed.

Morada: Incumbents Danny Nunes, Kurt Cooper and Sharon Stewart have filed and are unopposed.

Water districts

Lockeford Community Services District (water, sewer, parks): Incumbent Gary Gordon and Chris Littlefield have filed and are unopposed.

North San Joaquin Water Conservation District: Incumbent John Ferreira and challenger Dale Carver have filed in Division 2; challenger Bryan Pilkinton has filed in Division 3. Incumbent Matthys Van Gaalen has not filed in Division 3.

Woodbridge Irrigation District: Incumbents Avery McQueen in Division 2 and Eddie Lucchesi in Division 5 have filed. Both are unopposed.

Woodbridge Sanitary District: Incumbents Harold Rohrbach and Dwight Langhoff, and challengers Mary Avanti and Charles Stocker have filed.

Stockton East Water District (includes Morada): Incumbent Westford Ray Latimer and challenger Richard Atkins have filed in Division 1; appointed incumbent Alvin Cortopassi has filed in Division 3; and incumbent Melvin Panizza has filed in Division 4.

Fire districts

Clements: Incumbents Russell Cobb and William Henderson have filed, but incumbent Ray Engel has not. Filing period will be extended until 5 p.m. Wednesday.

Liberty: Incumbents William Ward and Robert Erman have filed and are unopposed.

Mokelumne: Incumbents Mike Young and Bernie Mettler have filed and are unopposed.

Woodbridge: Incumbents Michael Manassero Michael Manna have filed and are unopposed.

Waterloo-Morada: Incumbents Bill Snyder and Clayton Titus have filed and are unopposed.

Rules of Conduct

  • 1 Use your real name. You must register with your full first and last name before you can comment. (And don't pretend you're someone else.)
  • 2 Keep it clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually oriented language.
  • 3 Don't threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
  • 4 Be truthful. Don't lie about anyone or anything. Don't post unsubstantiated allegations, rumors or gossip that could harm the reputation of a person, company or organization.
  • 5 Be nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
  • 6 Stay on topic. Make sure your comments are about the story. Don't insult each other.
  • 7 Tell us if the discussion is getting out of hand. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
  • 8 Share what you know, and ask about what you don't.

Welcome to the discussion.


Popular Stories


Should graduations return to the Grape Bowl?

Lodi Unified leaders are moving Lodi and Tokay high school graduations from the Grape Bowl to the Spanos Center at UOP in Stockton. They cite limited seating, costs and unpredictable weather at the Grape Bowl. But others say graduations at the Grape Bowl are an important Lodi tradition, and one reason many supported renovating the stadium. What do you think?

Total Votes: 99


Mailing List

Subscribe to a mailing list to have daily news sent directly to your inbox.

  • Breaking News

    Would you like to receive breaking news alerts? Sign up now!

  • News Updates

    Would you like to receive our daily news headlines? Sign up now!

  • Sports Updates

    Would you like to receive our daily sports headlines? Sign up now!

Manage Your Lists