Lodinews.com

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
|
||
Logout|My Dashboard

The Cake is a Lie

The Cake is a Lie
Made popular by the game “Portal,” the phrase “The Cake is a Lie” generally means what motivates you doesn’t exist. The prizes, trophies and awards you accumulate after hours of gaming mean nothing in real life. But don’t let that get you down, we are still going to use the “Cake” to judge you.
Tuesday 03/29/2011
‘Dead Space 2’ is screaming good fun

I’d do anything for just a few more clips. In itself, for those who haven’t played Dead Space 2, this statement doesn’t make any sense. But ponder this, one shot turns into two, and two shots turns into three. Before you realize it, your body is clear of all ammo and you have to duke it out Muhammad Ali-style. 

Posted in The cake is a lie on Tuesday, March 29, 2011 2:55 pm. Updated: 7:23 am.

Friday 11/05/2010
Casual Friday: Bubble Shooter

Game: Bubble Shooter

Posted in The cake is a lie on Friday, November 5, 2010 4:54 pm. Updated: 4:57 pm.

Friday 10/29/2010
Casual Friday: Plant Tycoon

Game: Plant Tycoon

Posted in The cake is a lie on Friday, October 29, 2010 3:03 pm. Updated: 3:14 pm.

Friday 10/22/2010
Casual Friday: Chocolatier 3: Decadence by Design

Game: Chocolatier 3: Decadence by Design

Posted in The cake is a lie on Friday, October 22, 2010 5:20 pm. Updated: 5:26 pm.

Thursday 10/21/2010
Patch week blues

Do you ever feel left out of your favorite games? 

Posted in The cake is a lie on Thursday, October 21, 2010 2:26 pm. Updated: 2:43 pm.

Monday 10/18/2010
Happy birthday, NES

The console I grew up on turned 25 today. Wow, I'm old.

Posted in The cake is a lie on Monday, October 18, 2010 3:23 pm. Updated: 8:02 am. | Tags: Nintendo , Power Glove , Excitebike , Mike Tyson's Punch Out! , Ghostbusters

Friday 10/15/2010
Casual Friday: Frontierville

Game: Frontierville.

Posted in The cake is a lie on Friday, October 15, 2010 4:12 pm. Updated: 4:33 pm.

Friday 10/08/2010
Casual Friday: Echo Bazaar

 

Posted in The cake is a lie on Friday, October 8, 2010 4:32 pm. Updated: 4:35 pm.

Monday 10/04/2010
The WoW Killer

If you think about it, there are really only two kinds of MMORPGs being produced: the sprawling, epic fantasy - Everquest, WAR, Lord of the Rings Online, Age of Conan, Aion and World of Warcraft, for example - and the space-based - the Star Wars MMOs, EVE, Star Trek Online.

Posted in The cake is a lie on Monday, October 4, 2010 11:09 am. Updated: 11:35 am.

Friday 08/13/2010
Despite hot titles, videogame sales dip in July

Even more proof the economy is slumping: Videogame sales dipped one percent in July, according the NPD Group, an organization that tracks retail sales. The long-awaited release of "Starcraft" and the "slim" Xbox 360 helped buffer sales and keep the drop from being more significant.

Posted in The cake is a lie on Friday, August 13, 2010 3:18 pm. Updated: 7:02 am. | Tags: Videogames , Starcraft , Ncaa Football 11 , Slim Xbox

Poll

Loading…
About Jordan

Jordan Guinn is the agriculture and business editor for the Lodi News-Sentinel. He first picked up a Nintendo controller as a 5-year-old and never looked back.

more »
About Kyla

I first met the NES in the 1980s, where I cut my teeth on Mario Bros., Duck Hunt and The Legend of Zelda.

more »

Twitter