Lodinews.com

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
|
||
Logout|My Dashboard

Abstract Lodi

rss feed
Marc Lutz
  • Marc Lutz
  • E-mail: marcl@lodinews.com
  • The artistic endeavors and oddball wonders of Lodi as seen through the mind of Ducks In Lodi cartoonist Marc Lutz.
Wednesday 09/19/2012
Consider this a bookmark

I recently had the pleasure of kicking off a new book review column in Lodi Living. Unlike the traditional book review, however, this one takes the approach of a book club, wherein you can join me in raving or ranting about the chosen title.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Wednesday, September 19, 2012 2:10 pm. Updated: 8:10 am. Comments (0)

Tuesday 04/03/2012
In which I plagiarize myself

If you spend any length of time being the creative type, you may eventually repeat yourself. It's a definite possibility with writing, but even more so when it comes to cartooning.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Tuesday, April 3, 2012 7:43 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Friday 03/02/2012
There's a world of TV entertainment available locally

Traveling around Lodi can be pretty entertaining (after all, we are an interesting lot), but sometimes I like the escape of good television shows.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Friday, March 2, 2012 11:36 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Tuesday 10/11/2011
Help us with our color comics!

Our color comics are long overdue for a much-needed overhaul. 

Posted in Abstract lodi on Tuesday, October 11, 2011 8:43 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Thursday 09/15/2011
Hatching a new comic plan

Water gurgles through pipelines feeding into massive, pale green machines. A low mumbling hum quickly builds into a train-like cadence of paper being fed through those mechanical caterpillars.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Thursday, September 15, 2011 11:59 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Wednesday 08/17/2011
The Internet: Now with more Ducks!

Sometime I just gotta throw in some shameless self-promotion. But I justify it by saying readers will appreciate this kind of thing.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Wednesday, August 17, 2011 4:05 pm. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Thursday 08/11/2011
Creating a draw

You may have heard: The newspaper industry is going through some changes.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Thursday, August 11, 2011 10:47 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Tuesday 07/26/2011
Henry VIII vs. Henry VIII

Will the real Henry VIII please stand up.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Tuesday, July 26, 2011 11:46 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Friday 07/15/2011
Modern mastery

Life in the Central Valley has a certain feel to it. You've experienced it if you've lived here for any length of time. It truly is an amazing feeling, hard to capture or describe.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Friday, July 15, 2011 11:55 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Tuesday 07/05/2011
Local art's historical hold on me

I find it easy to get caught up in the history and art of just about any city. Both hold a great deal of fascination for me. 

Posted in Abstract lodi on Tuesday, July 5, 2011 11:46 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Monday 06/27/2011
When humor backfires

Sometimes we create ads here. Newspapers creating ads? Revolutionary concept, don't ya think? 

Posted in Abstract lodi on Monday, June 27, 2011 10:15 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Monday 06/13/2011
Frying up a birthday cake

Cake Boss? More like Cake Peon. Ace of Cakes? Call 'em Jack of Tarts. Iron Chef? Please. Comparatively, I'm the Titanium Baker.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Monday, June 13, 2011 9:04 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Monday 06/06/2011
Creative cakery

I'm not a big fan of the cake challenge shows on Food Network and other channels. 

Posted in Abstract lodi on Monday, June 6, 2011 9:29 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Monday 05/23/2011
You don't need a fancy phone for retro pics

Spend any amount of time online and you're sure to run across sites like instagr.am, a photo sharing website for the iPhone, which gives photos a washed-out, older look that's become quite popular these days.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Monday, May 23, 2011 11:24 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Friday 05/20/2011
Life in Lodi, only smaller

I've been fascinated with miniature things for longer than I can remember. I try to think back to what it was that originally captured my interest for diminutive stuff — whether childhood toys or my mother's fascination with dollhouse furniture — but I was hooked.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Friday, May 20, 2011 11:06 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Tuesday 05/17/2011
How Artists Think

Cartoonists, painters, sculptors and creative types in general look for inspiration wherever they can get it. Obviously for editorial cartoonists, inspiration comes from the daily news. There is no shortage of grist for our opinionated mills.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Tuesday, May 17, 2011 1:57 pm. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Wednesday 05/11/2011
The Comedy Conundrum

This is no laughing matter. We don't have enough comedy in Lodi.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Wednesday, May 11, 2011 3:29 pm. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Wednesday 05/04/2011
Lodi's New Gallery

Gallery alert! Lodi has a new art gallery Downtown, and it looks promising.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Wednesday, May 4, 2011 9:03 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Tuesday 04/26/2011
The artistry of local labels

Galleries, murals, statues, you name it. There is no shortage of art in Lodi. 

Posted in Abstract lodi on Tuesday, April 26, 2011 1:33 pm. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Friday 04/15/2011
I'm not sold

The statues created by Seward Johnson I wrote about in my previous blog have come to Downtown Lodi. 

Posted in Abstract lodi on Friday, April 15, 2011 1:23 pm. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (1)

Monday 04/11/2011
When art gets creepy

I know. I know! Art is subjective. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Variety is the spice of life. And cliches are for horrible writers. But, let's face it, some art is just plain creepy.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Monday, April 11, 2011 10:34 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (3)

Friday 03/25/2011
Providing creative tools

Despite sheets of wind-driven rain pelting our community on Thursday, hordes of kids turned out at the Lodi Public Library to learn about drawing comic strips and engage in all manner of cartoon-related activities.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Friday, March 25, 2011 11:32 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Tuesday 03/15/2011
A sticky, sweet lesson

The world's ills could be fixed by a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Tuesday, March 15, 2011 10:57 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Thursday 03/10/2011
Of Squirrels and Men

Lodi's gang problem is expanding.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Thursday, March 10, 2011 10:48 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Tuesday 03/01/2011
Odd celebrity

I've never wanted to be famous. Luckily, I don't see any chance of that ever happening. However, I have wanted, since I was a wee lad, to have my work be known. 

Posted in Abstract lodi on Tuesday, March 1, 2011 11:15 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (0)

Monday 02/14/2011
What dreams may come

Life in Lodi is strange enough without the interference of my dreams heaped upon the shoulders of reality.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Monday, February 14, 2011 10:38 am. Updated: 9:31 am. Comments (1)

Monday 02/07/2011
I've had my share of ugly

Now here's a contest right up my alley: Ugly Furniture.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Monday, February 7, 2011 10:45 am. Comments (2)

Thursday 02/03/2011
Wine, art and big winnings

Thirsty for wine? Hungry for art? Need to create? This might just be the event for you.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Thursday, February 3, 2011 10:42 am. Comments (0)

Wednesday 01/26/2011
The Abbrev. Gen.

“Wat R U doin?”

Posted in Abstract lodi on Wednesday, January 26, 2011 11:14 am. Comments (0)

Monday 01/10/2011
Lodi's greatest discovery

There is no shortage of artists and their work to be found in Lodi. Every month places like the Lodi Community Art Center, the Knowlton Gallery and Hutchins Street Square feature absorbing new works from what I consider to be modern day masters.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Monday, January 10, 2011 11:01 am. Comments (0)

Wednesday 12/29/2010
Top 5 'Ducks' of 2010

It's that time of the year when the News-Sentinel fires up the Wayback Machine and treats readers to its annual “best of” features. Since I rarely view my work as the best of anything, it's hard for me to compile such a list.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Wednesday, December 29, 2010 10:26 am. Updated: 2:32 pm. Comments (1)

Monday 12/27/2010
On technology and messing with people

If there's one thing I can respect it's a good prank. Especially when that prank is in good fun and everyone — even the target — gets a hearty laugh out of it.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Monday, December 27, 2010 3:05 pm. Comments (0)

Tuesday 12/21/2010
Grinchy fabulosity

Sometimes the strange and off-kilter is right around every corner. Sometimes the Christmas spirit hits us when we least expect it. Sometimes they're one and the same.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Tuesday, December 21, 2010 12:26 pm. Comments (1)

Thursday 12/16/2010
Desperately seeking Santa

I'm desperately trying to get into the Christmas spirit. 

Posted in Abstract lodi on Thursday, December 16, 2010 2:38 pm. Comments (0)

Friday 12/03/2010
Impulse buying: My kryptonite

George Carlin, in his “On the Road” comedy album was spot on when he talked about impulse buying:

Posted in Abstract lodi on Friday, December 3, 2010 11:52 am. Updated: 12:24 pm. Comments (0)

Monday 11/29/2010
Electric Essence in Lodi

There's a scene in the dark comedy classic "Drop Dead Gorgeous" where the community of Mt. Rose, Minn., turns out to celebrate the winner of the local beauty pageant. They do it with a parade.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Monday, November 29, 2010 2:33 pm. Updated: 2:39 pm. Comments (0)

Wednesday 11/24/2010
Thankful, Schmankful, here's what I could do without

It's that time of year when a glazed look spreads across the face of the country, and people count their blessings (see the two previous posts by my blogging buddies).

Posted in Abstract lodi on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 8:58 am. Comments (2)

Tuesday 11/16/2010
The Curse: Part II

When you're blessed with a curse, you can handle it one of two ways. You can either accept the affliction and roll with the cliches life has dealt you, or you can fight it like a television doctor with only an hour to cure a disease.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Tuesday, November 16, 2010 4:20 pm. Comments (0)

Friday 11/05/2010
Why I Love Lodi #24: Garage Sales

Is there really any better way to spend some free time than perusing garage sales?

Posted in Abstract lodi on Friday, November 5, 2010 2:17 pm. Comments (1)

Thursday 11/04/2010
The Curse: Part I

There's a certain talk that some children have with their parents. It comes when the child - usually as a teen or young adult - has a moment of self-realization. At that time it's only fair to share with mom and dad this moment of discovery, as they are the ones who invested so much of their lives in the upbringing of the soul-searching youth.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Thursday, November 4, 2010 2:26 pm. Comments (1)

Friday 10/29/2010
Dia de los Arte

After reading this story in this week's Lodi Living about Juan Gonzalez and his artistic focus on Dia de los Muertos, and after discovering a set of Dia de los Muertos drawings with a Star Wars theme, it got me even more interested in the holiday's creative aspects.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Friday, October 29, 2010 3:06 pm. Comments (0)

Thursday 10/21/2010
Peculiar pumpkins

Let's just get this out in the open right now: I love Halloween.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Thursday, October 21, 2010 1:58 pm. Updated: 12:27 pm. Comments (1)

Monday 10/18/2010
A Lodi Renaissance?

And speaking of quirky, I spied a peculiar sight on Sunday morning.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Monday, October 18, 2010 2:14 pm. Updated: 12:27 pm. Comments (0)

Friday 10/15/2010
Finding a nest for 'Ducks'

Do you dig ducks? Are you a coffee connoisseur? Do you know the best places in Lodi for a jug o' java?

Posted in Abstract lodi on Friday, October 15, 2010 3:07 pm. Updated: 3:34 pm. Comments (0)

Tuesday 10/12/2010
The Vegetable That Ate Lodi

Few things will actually make me do a double-take. Rogue penguins, free doughnuts, Joaquin Phoenix are all great examples.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Tuesday, October 12, 2010 4:50 pm. Updated: 4:54 pm. Comments (0)

Why I love Lodi: Reason No. 4

There's nothing quite like perusing stacks of old books in search of just the right tome to take home in a quiet, relaxing environment. And I'm not talking about the Lodi Public Library. I'm talking about that bastion of small business: Tom's New & Used Books.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Tuesday, October 12, 2010 8:19 am. Comments (0)

Friday 10/08/2010
Artistic news: Jordan Guinn

Certain physical and personality traits stand out in various people that I meet. The more I get to know them, the more prominent those traits become.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Friday, October 8, 2010 11:06 am. Comments (0)

Wednesday 10/06/2010
Comics: The Other Art Form

Tell someone you're into comic books when you're 12 and they'll smile, thinking it's nice for young ’uns to have a hobby. Tell them the same thing at 40 and they look at you like you're a social disease. 

Posted in Abstract lodi on Wednesday, October 6, 2010 1:22 pm. Comments (1)

Monday 10/04/2010
Dead Lodians Walking

This is just too good to pass up.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Monday, October 4, 2010 1:09 pm. Comments (0)

Friday 10/01/2010
Artistic news: Dan Evans

Sometimes a colleagues personality lends itself perfectly to a cartoon. Case in point: Dan Evans, the News-Sentinel's chief photo man. I drew the accompanying cartoon of him over lunch today.

Posted in Abstract lodi on Friday, October 1, 2010 1:43 pm. Comments (1)

Popular Stories

Poll

Loading…

Featured Events

Mailing List

Subscribe to a mailing list to have daily news sent directly to your inbox.

  • Breaking News

    Would you like to receive breaking news alerts? Sign up now!

  • News Updates

    Would you like to receive our daily news headlines? Sign up now!

  • Sports Updates

    Would you like to receive our daily sports headlines? Sign up now!

Manage Your Lists