Lodinews.com

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
|
||
Logout|My Dashboard

A Mom in Lodi

Jennifer Bonnett
  • Jennifer Bonnett
  • E-mail: jenniferb@lodinews.com
  • News-Sentinel Education Reporter Jennifer Bonnett writes about being a mom in Lodi.
Friday 09/17/2010
Fun Friday find #2

Oops, I missed posting last Friday. I was probably off having too much fun.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Friday, September 17, 2010 7:18 am. Updated: 1:27 pm. Comments (0)

Sunday 09/12/2010
Crafty crayons

Let me begin by saying I did not inherit my mother's ability to craft, sew or otherwise reproduce anything I see that involves a hot glue gun and/or a piece of scrap material. That said, I'm impressed when others (especially those my age) know how to keep that hobby hot.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Sunday, September 12, 2010 7:32 am. Updated: 1:27 pm. Comments (0)

Wednesday 09/08/2010
It's that time again

In case you missed the announcement, the annual Lodi Grape Festival kicks off a week from tomorrow and there are plenty of fun things for the five and under crowd.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Wednesday, September 8, 2010 11:02 am. Comments (0)

Tuesday 08/31/2010
Fun Friday find

As my son gets older, I'm looking for more activities outside of the house. Gone are the days of being content playing with Legos for hours, or more likely, staring at mom all day. Simply put: I think he's bored. So I've been finding things to do.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Tuesday, August 31, 2010 6:52 am. Updated: 1:27 pm. Comments (0)

Tuesday 08/24/2010
Delaying kindergarten

I talk to a lot of parents and have found many are unaware of a bill making its way through our state legislature that would delay the age a child could begin kindergarten. (Read more here: http://www.sacbee.com/2010/08/24/2978127/proposed-kindergarten-cutoff-date.html)

Posted in A mom in lodi on Tuesday, August 24, 2010 5:57 am. Updated: 8:02 am. Comments (1)

Wednesday 08/18/2010
Bugs in the park

Looking for something to do with your curious child this Friday evening? If Sam was a little older (and had a later bedtime!), I might head down to Oak Grove Regional Park nature night walk.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Wednesday, August 18, 2010 8:54 am. Updated: 9:47 am. Comments (0)

Friday 07/09/2010
What's the going rate?

It will be a few more years until my eldest loses his first tooth, but I started to think about it last night when my friend Kristy posted to facebook that her daughter would be expecting a visit from the tooth fairy. Only problem was, Kristy didn't know what the going rate was.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Friday, July 9, 2010 5:28 am. Updated: 5:49 am. Comments (6)

Tuesday 07/06/2010
A year later: Looking back at the best baby gifts

Looking back, I was blessed with the births of both of my children to have wonderfully generous friends and family who showered the new little ones (and their parents!) with much-needed gifts. For both, their wardrobe for the entire first year was pretty much set.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Tuesday, July 6, 2010 9:08 pm. Updated: 2:19 pm. Comments (1)

Never leave unattended

Some six months back (sorry, my mommy memory is a bit foggy), this newspaper carried an article about a rash of "smash and grabs" where the bad guys got away with women's purses and even a diaper bag. Much of the on-line response appeared to be from males who have never juggled a crying child and bags of groceries or have had to choose between leaving a purse in the car or the aforementioned crying child.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Tuesday, July 6, 2010 9:05 pm. Updated: 3:26 pm. Comments (0)

Tumbling fun

Several times a week, the four-and-under crowd gathers at an undescript building in one of Lodi's industrial areas to turn flips. Literally.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Tuesday, July 6, 2010 2:32 pm. Updated: 3:23 pm. Comments (0)

Tuesday 06/22/2010
They're baaaacccckkkkk

Last year, I can't count how many friends I know that took their children to the Lorikeet exhibit at Micke Grove Zoo. You know, those little birds that resemble Joseph's coat of many colors?

Posted in A mom in lodi on Tuesday, June 22, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:27 pm. Comments (0)

Sunday 06/20/2010
Happy Father's Day!

What'd you get your dad for Father's Day? Did you run out to JcPenney yesterday and pick up that $9 polo the store has been advertising for weeks? (I didn't.)

Posted in A mom in lodi on Sunday, June 20, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:28 pm. Comments (0)

Wednesday 06/16/2010
Visiting a new baby

Last December, the well-wishers filed in and out of our house congratulating my husband and I on our new daughter. Many brought home-made meals and store-bought gifts for our baby girl, but the offerings that stood out the most in my mind were what people brought my three-year-old son.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Wednesday, June 16, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:28 pm. Comments (0)

Friday 06/11/2010
Stocking the cupboards

I got home from the grocery store less than two hours ago and the bag of chips I bought my son is almost empty. Yes, I said chips.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Friday, June 11, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:28 pm. Comments (0)

Monday 06/07/2010
Hand me downs

In the last few weeks, I have received four bags of used baby clothes for my growing daughter. They came from friends and friends of friends, some people I have never even met. But they all had one thing in common: Their daughters had outgrown the clothes and they were looking to get rid of them. (And likely the thought of holding a yard sale or heading to a consignment shop was more work and time any of them had!)

Posted in A mom in lodi on Monday, June 7, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:29 pm. Comments (0)

Monday 05/31/2010
Should we start a new family evening?

Things have been pretty hectic in my family's life lately as work commitments have taken both adults out of the house in the evenings.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Monday, May 31, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:29 pm. Comments (0)

Thursday 05/27/2010
Wacky weather

Today is the last day of preschool for my son. We were supposed to attend a class picnic at Lodi Lake, but thunderstorms are forecasted off and on all day. Is it almost June?

Posted in A mom in lodi on Thursday, May 27, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:29 pm. Comments (0)

Saturday 05/22/2010
Sesame Street returns to Stockton

In case you haven't heard, Elmo's coming back to Stockton. Get the details here.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Saturday, May 22, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:29 pm. Comments (0)

Tuesday 05/18/2010
(Un)happy meals

When I became a parent and started talking in mommy circles, I discovered that admitting you bought a McDonald's Happy Meal for your child seemed equivalent to letting him play with fire.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Tuesday, May 18, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:27 pm. Comments (0)

Friday 05/14/2010
Dress accordingly

...and I'm not talking about what to wear to a special occasion. I'm talking about the park.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Friday, May 14, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:27 pm. Comments (0)

Wednesday 05/12/2010
Pick your own snack

With all of this rain followed by sunshine, followed by more rain, our family garden is taking off.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Wednesday, May 12, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:27 pm. Comments (0)

Monday 05/03/2010
Buyer beware

Similar to when my son was born, I was fortunate enough to receive a lot of baby gifts for my daughter. Unfortunately, many were duplicates.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Monday, May 3, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:27 pm. Comments (0)

Friday 04/30/2010
Raise a reader

I can still remember clearly three and a half years ago when my husband and I brought our first born home from the hospital.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Friday, April 30, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:27 pm. Comments (0)

Wednesday 04/28/2010
Downtown events this month and next

This just in: Shop Sunday in Downtown Lodi is in full swing. Looks to me they've hit a home run with the younger crows.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Wednesday, April 28, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:27 pm. Comments (0)

Wednesday 04/21/2010
Toddler basketball and other fun sports

The sun keeps peeking out! Must mean it's time for spring sports.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Wednesday, April 21, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:27 pm. Comments (0)

Sunday 04/18/2010
Preschool power breakfasts

Since my son started preschool last November, I have to admit I haven't quite mastered getting him up, feeding and clothing him, and getting him out the door -- on time. Sometimes we miss one of those steps altogether (hence why I keep a few snacks in the car at all times).

Posted in A mom in lodi on Sunday, April 18, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:27 pm. Comments (0)

Friday 04/16/2010
Track and field day tomorrow

Lodi Unified students in the fourth- through sixth-grade are invited to the All City Track Meet Saturday where participants can run, jump and throw their ways to a possible state championship.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Friday, April 16, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:27 pm. Comments (0)

Monday 04/12/2010
Best place for food, family and fun

With a four month old and a three-and-a-half year old, we're always looking for family-friendy eateries. We may have found our new favorite spot: Woodbridge Pizzeria.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Monday, April 12, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:27 pm. Comments (0)

Friday 04/09/2010
Know who to call

I consider myself lucky in my son's three short years that I haven't had to call poison control. Until late-December when he decided to sample the gumdrops on his homemade gingerbread house that dad had just sprayed with glue to preserve.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Friday, April 9, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:27 pm. Comments (0)

Wednesday 04/07/2010
Kids in the kitchen

Ever since becoming a stay-at-home, part-time working mother, I have enjoyed making special meals for my family. But as my son gets older, it's harder to take time to do that. So I thought of another solution: I'll make him part of the process. That's harder than it sounds.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Wednesday, April 7, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:27 pm. Comments (0)

Monday 04/05/2010
Recall hits close to home

When Kennedy was a newborn, I was still struggling with getting two small children out of the car and wherever I wanted to go. (Who am I kidding? I'm still having that issue!)

Posted in A mom in lodi on Monday, April 5, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:27 pm. Comments (0)

Wednesday 03/31/2010
Where are the cheapest eggs?

Have you found any good deals on eggs this week? Of course, I'm talking about the ones you hard boil and color since it is Easter time.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Wednesday, March 31, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:27 pm. Comments (0)

Friday 03/26/2010
See you at the hockey game

If you haven't made it down to the Stockton Arena to see the minor league hockey team play, you have one more chance this weekend.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Friday, March 26, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 1:27 pm. Comments (0)

Tuesday 03/23/2010
Let's go swimming!

Now that the sun has regularly been out for weeks , are your little ones itching to go swimming?

Posted in A mom in lodi on Tuesday, March 23, 2010 12:00 am. Comments (0)

Monday 03/22/2010
Keep in the car at all times

I've mentioned before that we moms seem to keep a lot of things in our cars for our kids.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Monday, March 22, 2010 12:00 am. Comments (0)

Saturday 03/20/2010
Having it all together

Dear woman in the parking lot at Safeway:

Posted in A mom in lodi on Saturday, March 20, 2010 12:00 am. Comments (0)

Thursday 03/18/2010
Spring break: For whom?

My friend, Emilie, is not only a mother of three but a college student to boot (not sure how she handles it all!). The two facets have her life recently collided thanks to spring break. It made me think: What do parents do with their children when school's out and they're not off?

Posted in A mom in lodi on Thursday, March 18, 2010 12:00 am. Comments (0)

Wednesday 03/10/2010
Too many diapers?

This morning I finished the 216-count box of diapers from Costco. It was a much-appreciated Christmas gift from a well-meaning relative, but I never thought I'd see the bottom of the box. Not to mention Kennedy was quickly growing out of that particular size.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Wednesday, March 10, 2010 12:00 am. Comments (0)

Sunday 03/07/2010
Pondering pants

I was recently complaining to my friend, Valerie, about how none of my 3-year-old son's pants seem to fit correctly. Truth be told, he's still wearing size 24 month because his waist is so tiny. But, you guessed, it, as he grows taller the pants get shorter.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Sunday, March 7, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 3:02 pm. Comments (0)

Friday 03/05/2010
Take the kids out to the ballgame

Last Sunday afternoon as the pre-spring sun brought temperatures in the high 60s, we decided to take the family to a baseball game.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Friday, March 5, 2010 12:00 am. Comments (0)

Wednesday 03/03/2010
Clearance time!

Despite the deluge of rain pouring down on Lodi today, colorful swim suits and sun hats have hit the racks of our local stores.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Wednesday, March 3, 2010 12:00 am. Comments (0)

Friday 02/26/2010
Great expectations

I have never been a huge fan of Dora the Explorer, but the TV show's learning tool has proven an invaluable one for getting my son through his day, especially those challenging ones.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Friday, February 26, 2010 12:00 am. Comments (0)

Thursday 02/25/2010
Got cabin fever?

A few weeks back, I found myself feeling trapped in my house by the weather. No, it doesn't snow here, but the days of rain had made the country property we live on turn to a swamp.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Thursday, February 25, 2010 12:00 am. Comments (0)

Monday 02/22/2010
Dare to discipline

The dreaded "d" word. There are hundreds of books on the market about ways to discipline your child, from birth to adolescence, using tried-and-true methods or new, religious-based ones.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Monday, February 22, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 3:01 pm. Comments (0)

Thursday 02/18/2010
Put a little magic in your afternoon

Looking for something to do this afternoon? There's a magician in town and he's appearing (or is that disappearing?) at the Lodi Library at 3:30 p.m.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Thursday, February 18, 2010 12:00 am. Comments (0)

Monday 02/15/2010
Easy enchillada soup so easy a busy mom can do it

I don't typically write for our food section or even post recipes, but I had to share this super easy one-pot meal. My friend Tammi (and mother of a 21-month-old) jotted down the directions for meto make while recovering from my recent surgery.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Monday, February 15, 2010 12:00 am. Comments (0)

Saturday 02/13/2010
Second time around

I've been a mother of two for about two and a half months. Now that we've got a schedule in place (sort of)and the littlest addition is fitting into the family just fine, I've had a chance to think about the differences between having just one child and suddenly having two.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Saturday, February 13, 2010 12:00 am. Comments (0)

Wednesday 02/10/2010
Made with love

Valentine's Day is right around the corner and, chances are, your children will make some sort of craft to give to the ones they love.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Wednesday, February 10, 2010 12:00 am. Comments (0)

Monday 02/08/2010
The tale of two car seats

When you add a second child under the age of 5 to your life, you also have to add a carseat to your car. I had no idea the science that went into such a task.

Posted in A mom in lodi on Monday, February 8, 2010 12:00 am. Updated: 3:02 pm. Comments (0)

Tuesday 02/02/2010
Family night of food, fun

Looking for a fun place to take the kids to dinner? Every Tuesday Round Table on Kettleman Lane hosts a family night. For just $3.99 kids ages 4 through 10 can eat all the pizza, twists and salads their little tummies can hold (adults are $6.99, while kids 3 and under eat for free).

Posted in A mom in lodi on Tuesday, February 2, 2010 12:00 am. Comments (0)

Popular Stories

Poll

What would you like to see in Lodi's parks?

Lodi's Parks, Recreation and Cultural Services Department is hosting a public workshop at 7 p.m. at Hutchins Street Square to find out how it can better meet the needs of the community. What would you like to see in Lodi's parks?

Total Votes: 214

Loading…

Featured Events

Mailing List

Subscribe to a mailing list to have daily news sent directly to your inbox.

  • Breaking News

    Would you like to receive breaking news alerts? Sign up now!

  • News Updates

    Would you like to receive our daily news headlines? Sign up now!

  • Sports Updates

    Would you like to receive our daily sports headlines? Sign up now!

Manage Your Lists